Uncategorized

Remembering Sandy Hook

It is 3:06 in the morning. I have been down with the flu and now bronchitis. I have been staying up very late every nite for the last week from feeling sick and tonite is no different. Of course, I am watching continual coverage of “Breaking News”. I think it’s called “Breaking News” because most of the time it “breaks” our heart. Not always, but mostly.

I hope you will take the time to read the poems/songs that came through me. When I am creating, it is my intent to be in conversation with God with me mostly trying to hone my listening skills. These were written with love and respect for all victims.

Two phrases stuck out for me, No More Reunions and Positive Identity. No More Reunions referred to the waiting area for parent’s waiting to reunite with their children in a local firehouse. There were 50 or so adults left and were told “No More Reunions”!  It is haunting to me.

NO MORE REUNIONS

In a quiet little town just north of New York City
A young man gone wild in a schoolyard once pretty
He was so overloaded and falling apart
When he opened fire on innocence and heart

Come to the firehouse, is what they were told
Your children are waiting, wanting to go home
They’ve been through a scene, one that’ll never let go
So stop what you’re doin
Come to the Reunion

Mamas and Papas go to the right
Your children are seated to the left in the Light
When we call out your name, mother and child
Just stop what you’re doin
This is your Reunion

The day carried on in much the same way
Daunting despair, a haunting display
All the names had been called, it was eerie to say
Stop what you’re doin
These are the final Reunions

The mama’s and papas still waiting to the right
Had waited and waited with their eyes on the light
They realized the truth, it was so loud and so clear
The most Feared Fear was the hardest to hear
So loud and clear, oh the hardest to hear
To stop what you’re doin
There’ll be no more Reunions
There’ll be no more Reunions
There’ll be no more Reunions
No more Reunions
No more Reunions

(I cannot imagine this)

 

The second phrase was Positive Identity. The chief of police kept talking about not giving out any names until they had “Positive Identities”.

POSITIVE IDENTITY (a mother knows)

 

He’s got a mole on his ear
It twitches a lot when he likes what he hears
She’s got teeth coming in 
And one of them sticks out in between her grin
A little boy, a little girl
Barely six and seven

These little things I tell you
Help you do the job you do
While I sit by, my family and me
Waiting for a Positive Identity

He’s got one blue eye and the other’s green
The prettiest eyes you’ve ever seen
She’s got a birthmark on her thigh
Looks like a floating, golden butterfly
A little boy, a little girl
Barely six and seven

These little things I tell you
Help you do the job you do
While I sit by, my family and me
Waiting for a Positive Identity

I really want to kick and scream
This is a lopsided, crazy, F’d up dream
But it’s more amazing that I choose to speak
The many beautiful things of these children you I.D
I believe that in the daze to come, I will always see
And never forget their………………………………………………….. Positive Identity

 

3 thoughts on “Remembering Sandy Hook

  1. Thank you Robin. Thanks for channeling your grief into poignant verse. Nothing really truly sunk in yesterday until I saw the picture of the terrified, crying students being led across the parking lot – that’s when my first tears burst out. I of course envisioned my precious children being the ones in that picture…the ones NOT in that picture. Then I shifted back to all those right there at the school and community. I felt the need to send out an enormous blanket of compassion, comfort, and shared grief and spread it over everybody involved. It sounds odd but that’s what my soul wanted to do.
    Again – Thank you.

    1. Hi John
      thanks for your message. I couldn’t help it and felt so compelled. I cried while I wrote and tried to imagine what it must be like but I still
      feel one step removed emotionally. My heart goes out to the little babies to have left this world scared and alone. Your Blanket of compassion is
      beautiful and normal, I think. I think it is good for people to talk about it. These tragedies don’t really happen just to the people involved, they happen
      to all of us, as we are all so connected. Hug your Samantha for me. See you soon!

Leave a Reply

